All the Colours of Arran

It’s very late and I should be off to bed, but I’ve been working on a Powerpoint presentation for a talk I’m giving on Tuesday at the Kent Architectural Students’ Association in Canterbury.  My talk centers on the work I did last year on The Glenisle Hotel www.glenislehotel.com on the beautiful island of Arran off the west coast of Scotland. 

I’m talking about my design inspirations for the project, and these came from the island itself.  It’s a landscape of colours and textures, from misty greys on sea-stained pebbles, to hill-clad heathery mauves, of twilight blues shot with fingers of yellow from the setting sun, to the sharp jabs of magenta, gold and red from the mallow, gorse and poppies sprinkled amongst the fresh green fields.  It’s an island that smells of the good earth and salty sea.  It’s like the Newfoundland of my childhood, and I like it very much.

Here are some pictures.

About Adrienne Chinn

I'm a writer, blogger, interior designer, traveller, photographer, dog lover, foodie, slow jogger, nature walker, adventuress and aspiring eccentric.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

