The Urban London Collection from an Urban London Girl

Here it is, finally!  After an 18 month gestation period, my Urban London collection of rugs, wallpapers, fabrics and tiebacks, gets its first glimpse of the world here on my blog. 

It all started with me, my camera, and my walks around London in the summer of 2009.  I decided to take pictures of patterns, shadows, pavements, grilles, graffiti — things that we walk past every day and don’t notice.  And the more I looked, the more I saw.  Look at the colours of those road markings painted randomly on the street in front of Waterloo Station by a construction worker!  Notice how that grille looks 3D when caught by the camera at a certain angle.  Whoever thought gum on the pavement could look, dare I say it, pretty?

Several hundred photos later I thought, what can I do with them images?  And I thought maybe I could use some of them for inspiration for some carpets I was designing for a client.  And, it all grew from there. 

The collection now includes 6 hand-tufted wool rugs, 6 beautiful glass and silk tiebacks made to order in Wales, and a big collection of wallpapers, murals and fabrics which I’ve designed with the extremely talented designer Annette Taylor-Anderson of ATA Designs http://www.atadesigns.com

The whole collection will be available for sale on my website http://www.adriennechinn.co.uk at the end of January, and the rugs, wallpapers and fabrics can be custom-sized.  Until then, here’s a little taster of some of the wallpapers and murals.

About Adrienne Chinn

I'm a writer, blogger, interior designer, traveller, photographer, dog lover, foodie, slow jogger, nature walker, adventuress and aspiring eccentric.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Urban London Collection from an Urban London Girl

  1. Annette Taylor-Anderson says:

    Just want to say, it’s been a pleasure working with you, and look forward to the launch of Urban London products.

    Annette Taylor-Anderson

  2. Alex says:

    hello
    I would just like to say i absolutly love your work. The way you can make something we see and take for granted in every day life become a vibrant work of art is truly amazing.
    i am an art student at secondary school in Scotland at the moment and for my desgin folio i am hoping to do an interior design piece, designing a living room.
    I was wondering if you would be able to give me any tips on how you put together the things you do.
    your help would be much appriciated.
    yours sincerly
    Alex

    • Hi Alex

      So sorry to take so long to answer you — I’ve only just read your comment!

      I’m not great at free-hand drawing so I use my camera a lot for capturing inspiration when I’m out and about. I always have it with me in case something catches my eye. I keep my eyes open for patterns, textures and colours in the environment around me. I tend to take a lot of close up shots and strange angles of things — I’m sure people wonder what on earth I’m taking pictures of if they happen to notice!

      I get a lot of inspiration from nature and often use colour combinations I’ve noticed in nature in my interior designs. I also love old cartoons — like Tom & Jerry, Loony Toons, etc. because they have great colours and quirky furniture in the background. Old movies are also a great inspiration for furniture and interiors. I read a lot of design books and magazines, and I love to visit design museums and stately homes. I guess the biggest piece of advice I could give you is to learn to really see things around you, rather than just looking.

      Good luck with your course!
      Adrienne

Leave a Reply

