100% Design Fair London

Good grief!  I can’t believe it’s been over two months since I’ve posted a blog.  It’s been a hectic summer, mostly wrapped up with pulling together the Urban London stand for the 100% Design fair in London at the end of September.  The stand looked fab thanks to wallpaper & fabric designer Annette Taylor-Anderson‘s (www.atadesigns.com) amazing wallpapering skills, operations manager Melvyn Fickling‘s (www.adriennechinn.co.uk) acerbic wit, glass designer Sue King‘s (www.suekingglass.co.uk) cheerfulness and interior designer Celia James‘s (www.celiajamesinteriors.co.uk) teacherly abilities with our student visitors.  Here’s that stand looking pristine just before the show opened:

Annette and I were delighted to have just won the Best Wallpaper Award for our Mind the Gap and Made in Britain wallpapers at the International Design & Architecture Awards, and I was very pleased to be listed as a Finalist in the New Product category for my Grille rug in the Blueprint Magazine Awards at 100% Design.

Our stand was listed in the recommended Design Trail at 100% Design by journalist Barbara Chandler of the London Evening Standard newspaper and Blueprint Magazine, so this guaranteed a constant stream of visitors to the stand.

Here’s Annette and me having a well-earned sit down on the stand:

And me and Sue King:

And a very special visitor, my nephew Henry, who approved of the chair and loved the scaffolding tower:

We couldn’t have pulled the stand together without the help of some great collaborators, including Mohammed Rahman of www.lumenahome.co.uk who made the prototype chairs and stool for us based on a design by high school student Omar Cham in a project I participated in with the after-school furniture club at St. Paul’s Way Trust School in London’s East End.

The full range of Urban London rugs, tiebacks, wallpapers and fabrics was on show, with the wallpaper murals proving a big hit with everyone.  Sue King delivered her gorgeous Urban London glass, which I’d specially commissioned to compliment the range — it’s all for sale by contacting me at adrienne@adriennechinn.co.uk .

Other new arrivals in the Urban London collection are lampshades

cushions…..

clever storage stools on wheels designed by student Abdul Tahir at St. Paul’s Way Trust School….

and a fabulous Urban London neon coffee table by neon artist Darren West.

The highlight of the show for me was the visit by the St. Paul’s Way Trust furniture club to the show.  All the boys worked really hard on some fantastic designs based on my brief to design a chair or stool which could use my Urban London fabric.  Along with Omar Cham and Abdul Tahir who I’ve already mentioned were Tonny Duong who had designed a clever folding chair:

and Maruf Ahmed who had designed a table that turns into a chair:

They were accompanied by the multi-talented photographer and teacher Magda Plewa-Ould who was the one who’d invited me to get involved with this wonderful project.  I also have to mention “the invisible man”, furniture maker Rick Levene, the co-leader of the furniture club, without whose help the prototypes would never have seen the light of day.

A percentage of the proceeds from the sale of the Abdul’s storage stools and Omar chairs and stools will go back to St. Paul’s Way Trust School to fund further development of their after school furniture club.

We’re in the process of  downloading all the new products to the Shopping Section of http://www.adriennechinn.co.uk, but in the meantime if you’d like more information about any of the products you’ve seen here, including prices and lead-times (and don’t forget we can do custom sizes!), please contact me on adrienne@adriennechinn.co.uk .

About Adrienne Chinn

I'm a writer, blogger, interior designer, traveller, photographer, dog lover, foodie, slow jogger, nature walker, adventuress and aspiring eccentric.
This entry was posted in Contemporary Design, Interior Design, Interiors. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 100% Design Fair London

  1. fieldpoppy says:

    That is AWESOME, Age — your work is truly amazing! So proud of you! xx cate

  2. Shauna Kennedy says:

    Wow – I’m already a fan of your wallpapers and rugs for sure – but the glass is particularly beautiful and really complements your designs. Excellent-looking booth – wish I could have seen the show in person. xo

  3. Susan Edwards says:

    Adrienne your work is absolutely breathtaking! Absolutely beautiful!

  4. Janette Cole says:

    Beautiful set! I absolutely loved the metallic legged coffee table. It top looks similar to the one I recently purchased at a furniture store in Miami. http://hervalusa.com/product.php?cat=8&furniture_id=1089

  5. jade says:

    Hi, I’m currently studying 3d Architectural Interior Design and I love your work but was wondering what you would do to become more ethically responsible.

    Thanks

    • Hi Jade

      Thank you for your comment. I already consider myself ethically responsible!

      All the products in the Urban London Collection are made in the UK by craftspeople and manufacturers following sound ecological policies. I also feel very strongly about supporting UK business and manufacturing. And sourcing from the UK also avoids carbon emissions from international importation.

      The rugs are hand-tufted in 100% wool in Croatia with adult workers receiving a competitive wage. The cost price to me is more expensive than rugs from India, but I am confident of their ethical standard.

      Why did you assume my products weren’t ethically responsible, or that I wouldn’t have given this issue a great deal of thought before embarking on this project?

      Kind regards
      Adrienne

Leave a Reply

