Abstraction + Colour = Kelly Washbourne

I’ve been a big fan of artist Kelly Washbourne’s energetic and muscular abstract art since I first laid eyes on it at the Affordable Art Fair in London a few years ago.  Kelly’s fearless use of colour (something I wholeheartedly applaud!), and strong sense of form and structure, create art which is confident, provocative and energetic.

I specify her work whenever I can, and am saving up for my own Kelly Washbourne!  Here are a couple of her paintings in a penthouse I designed in London.

One more taster!

And the artist herself:

About Adrienne Chinn

I'm a writer, blogger, interior designer, traveller, photographer, dog lover, foodie, slow jogger, nature walker, adventuress and aspiring eccentric.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Abstraction + Colour = Kelly Washbourne

  1. endogenoushweta says:

    Hi I am an interior design student. I believe one of the routes to success is to understand as much possible from those who are successful. I find it a struggle to manage time with projects, interviews and personal life; but thats the same story with most of us. I was googling interior designers to see how they did it (or are doing it). You have a very interesting, inspiring, full of energy life. Although you took up this career later in life, you seem to have made a mark. One question. HOW?
    I am losing hope with recession and declining jobs in all industries, design jobs are even more painful to earn a living in than ever before.

    • Hi
      Sorry to take awhile to respond — I’ve been away in Portugal at a trade fair and am catching up on my blog now.

      Yes, it’s tough rght now with the recession, especially in interior design. What I would say is to work hard on your course, get good training in CAD and other computer programmes, and when you finish look for jobs in interior design or related fields, like working in a fabric showroom or furniture showroom (I worked in a furniture showroom part-time when I first graduated and started my business. If you start a business, work from home rather than paying for an office. Only hire people on contract work rather than full-time to keep costs down. Be very careful with your cash flow.

      The recession is bound to end eventually! In the meantime, try not to be downhearted, and look for any opportunities you can find to progress in your chosen career.

      Good luck!

      Adrienne

  2. pumpkinnjuice says:

    Wow, I’m loving this artwork – thanks for sharing! Also, I adore that sculpture on the plinth in the fourth image. Is that also by the Kelly?

Leave a Reply

