Kazakhstan!

Back in London for a couple of days from Grenada and Miami to dump my summer clothes and pack up my winter things for my trip to Almaty in Kazakhstan.  A wintry -12 there – but I’m a hardy Canadian so I was looking forward to a bit of real winter weather. 

Well, I got it!  Had no idea what to expect, which was a good thing because it was a total surprise.  Gorgeous Asian women up to their eyes in furs, wearing the latest Chanel, Armani, Versace… yes, the posh shops are all there.  No sign of Borat though! 

I was in Kazakhstan to speak at a design conference about Art Deco in Contemporary Interiors.  I managed to put in some of my photos of Miami’s Art Deco hotels in all their ice cream colours — they seemed impressed!  On the second day I walked around the snowy city taking pictures and visiting the Museum of Kazakhstan which had obviously been built during the Soviet era of the 60s as nothing much about or inside the building appears to have changed.  A fascinating day in a fascinating place.  Here are some photos:

I was amazed to see how much of the West had infiltrated the country.

About Adrienne Chinn

I'm a writer, blogger, interior designer, traveller, photographer, dog lover, foodie, slow jogger, nature walker, adventuress and aspiring eccentric.
This entry was posted in Interior Design. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

