Maroc Mod in the Mountains

I have a confession to make.  I am mad about combining funky vintage furniture with exotic finds from the souks of Morocco and the Middle East, with a splash of Indian and Chinese treasures.  It’s my favourite look – a glorious bohemian mix of much-loved treasures.  I have a dream to build a wonderful home/hotel in Morocco where I can putter about bare foot, caftan floating in the breeze, adding to my motley collection of vintage finds thrifted from the souks, hand-thrown pottery, colourful antique posters, embroideries showing the skills of nimble fingers, handira wedding blankets with their thousand silver sequins, and thick creamy Beni Ourain rugs with their ancient Berber markings — zigzags, x’s and diamonds — each marking illustrating the Berber woman’s journey through life.  I dream of organising retreats in the Atlas Mountains, and working with Berber women on rug designs and textiles are our own looms, selling from my own shops in Marrakech, London and on-line, and putting back the profits into the community.  It would be a place to hike in the gorgeous countryside, paint, take photos, do yoga, read, write, cook, learn.  It would be a place to get away from it all — and find it all.  A place to lose yourself and find yourself.

So I’m putting it out there.  This is what I want.  Universe, are you listening?

Tangerine and pink with bright white looks funky and fresh in this Moroccan living room. (Photo courtesy of http://www.emeraldcloset.com )

Lenny Kravitz’s Moroccan dining room – a song in white.

I love this wall of pictures in simple black frames combined with the Berber rugs and Mid-Century Modern Eiffel chair. (Photo courtesy of http://www.homeinteriordesigned.com )

A simple Moroccan kitchen with modern accents. (Photo courtesy of http://www.homeinteriordesigned.com )

A roof with a view. (Photo courtesy of Elle Decor.)

A Beni Ourain carpet, turquoise Moroccan pottery and objets trouve are combined with finesse by Maryam Montague at Peacock Pavilions. (www.peacockpavilions.com )

The living room at Peacock Pavilions in Marrakech combines all the eclectic elements of Maroc Mod. (www.peacockpavilions.com )

Why not learn Maroc Mod from a master?  You can buy Maryam Montague’s book Marrakech by Design on http://www.amazon.com .  I’ve got my copy on my bedside table!

And how about this for something exciting?  I’m planning a design retreat at Peacock Pavilions in Marrakech next year where we can learn how to create that Maroc Mod look.  If you’d like more information, just drop me an email at adriennechinn@hotmail.co.uk .

About Adrienne Chinn

I'm a writer, blogger, interior designer, traveller, photographer, dog lover, foodie, slow jogger, nature walker, adventuress and aspiring eccentric.
This entry was posted in Contemporary Design, Interior Design and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maroc Mod in the Mountains

  1. Shona @ Homestork says:

    I share your Moroccan dream!

Leave a Reply

