You Zig and I’ll Zag

I’ve been noticing zigzags lately. They look fresh, dynamic, and, yes, a little bit cheeky. They’re not for the faint-hearted. They shout ‘look at me!’ They’re the naughty child in the stripe family. If you want to add energy to a room, just throw some zigzags in. Viola! Instant pizzazz! I can’t wait to get my hands on something fabulously ziggy zaggy in my next flat. And you can be sure I’ll try to fit some of graphic energy into my next project. Clients be warned!

I love the way Jim Lambie has jazzed up the classical columns with this colourful zigzag floor.

Juan Montoya Design use a chocolate and white zigzag rug to add a jolt of energy to this home study.

Zigzags don’t need to be bold to be effective. The rug in this room by Robert Passal is subtle and unique.

American designer Jamie Drake uses zigzags on cushions in this masterfully colourful room.

 I’ve used this picture before in my blog about turquoise, and I’ll use it again here. Jonathan Adler can do no wrong.

Kelly Wearstler is at the top of her game with this stunning black and white design and the zigzag marble floor.

I love this subtle painted zigzag floor in this room by Mary McDonald.

How about a feature zigzag wall? This one is by Billy Baldwin.

Zigzag neutrals by Sabbe Interior Design.

Some zigzag colour on the floor in this design by Domino.

I love the way this white room comes alive with this zigzag rug.

Terrific pink zigzag cushions in this fun guest bedroom.

Ultimate eclecticism in this hallway design. Photo courtesy of House Beautiful.

The settee in this neutral room adds an element of fun. Design by Barbara Howard.

Wow! A rhapsody in zigzags by Decorpad.

Tamara Kaye-Honey uses zigzags, x’s and squares is a harmony of graphics in this neutral  room.  Photo courtesy of House of Honey.

How about a zigzag chair? This one is by Reitveld.

Energetic zigzags and vibrant yellow — a match made in sunny heaven! Photo courtesy of Cottage Living.

About Adrienne Chinn

I'm a writer, blogger, interior designer, traveller, photographer, dog lover, foodie, slow jogger, nature walker, adventuress and aspiring eccentric.
This entry was posted in Bedrooms, Colours, Contemporary Design, Dining Rooms, Interior Design, Interiors, Living Rooms and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to You Zig and I’ll Zag

  1. Thank you for this post it has given me some inspiration.

  2. apopa3 says:

    I was never a fan of zigzags but after taking a look at how it was used in some of those, I have to say I really do like it! Especially on the pillows or as a picture up on the wall. I also really love the 1 zigzag chair and how it blends in but stands out at the same time. Not too sure if I’m a fan of an entire floor being done like that though!

  3. jumpolondon says:

    every thing is perfect
    Thx for post

Leave a Reply

